Medical Genetics Interferes with Leisure Writing, But I Still Wrote This ((by Jade))

(cc) via flickr Michael Bentley

Remember that semester – or hell, semesters (plural)– in undergrad…during finals week…with 4 tests in a row.  You know.  That week where you didn’t really shower or sleep or brush your hair.  Where you considered pitching a tent in the library and hooking up an intravenous food supply so you didn’t have to waste time eating.  And then you finally took your last chemistry exam, but it was so difficult that you walked out in tears and called your mom, blabbering something about dropping out of college and teaching English in China (no? just me? alright then.)

I think graduate school can be like that all the time.  But I don’t want it to be.  I like to shower and eat solid foods.

My point is that things can get crazy pretty fast.  I’m 2 weeks in, and I already feel the rush: the reading, the projects, the research, the shadowing, the meetings, the clinics, the thesis, the board exams.  I’ve been busy, my friends, and while I got all excited to sit down and write, I maturely decided that my medical genetics text should trump wordpress.

So basically this a pre-post before I post about the exciting stuff.  Fine, you caught me; this is the lazy man’s post where I post about future posting.

But I do have exciting things to report, and I’ll eventually get the good stuff on m&g.  I recently conducted a phone and skype interview with genetic counselors doing amazing work, both in the states and abroad.  Against all better judgment, I did make a land-line call to Australia to get some insight into what’s going on across the world.  (Mom, I know you’re reading this.  Relax.  I’ll pick up the phone tab.)  I hope to eventually transcribe those interviews and share what I learned.

In addition, I started clinical observations in the pediatric clinic. Very elementary work done on my part, but at least I got some patient interaction.  I’ll also try to do some future posts about the history of genetic counseling, which we recently learned about, as well as interesting small-talk among my classmates – Lance Armstrong, testicular cancer, and celebrity scandals.

There’s also been discussion about some of us doing direct-to-consumer genetic testing through 23andme. The jury is still out as to whether I want my own results!

There’s so much to say, really, but so little coffee.  Plus, a girl’s got to take some time to drive back to undergrad for football season.

I shall leave you with one of my favorite genetics quotes:

We share 51% of our genes with yeast and 98% with chimpanzees – it is not genetics that makes us human.
–Dr Tom Shakespeare, University of Newcastle

Leave a Reply

