Good luck with interviews! ((By Hannah))

At this time last year, I was an eager candidate checking my email daily for any new interview invitations and updates on my visits. I was organizing my trips while simultaneously attempting to keep up with my school work and find willing individuals to substitute the classes I was teaching. It was stressful and terrifying and wonderful all at the same time.

When I began my program, my expectation for these two years was simply to get a degree in genetic counseling. Now being a quarter of the way to my goal, I realize that being a part of this program is so much more than just grabbing a degree and moving on. We are immersed in the world of genetics and pushed every day to try something new. In just one semester I have observed and participated in a wide range of sessions across multiple clinics. I have learned more in the classroom about genetic disorders and counseling that I knew possible. I have attended conferences and lectures by some of the leading individuals in the field of genetics. I have gotten to know a new city and I have met some wonderful people along the way.

With the realization that interview time is a few weeks away, I am especially excited for the next wave of students to join our program. I encourage all of the current applicants that are planning their interview visits to take advantage of the current students as a resource. Reach out to us with your questions and help us to get to know you. We are happy to do whatever we can to take some of the stress and anxiety off of your big day just as the previous students did for us.

I wish you all good luck during this exciting time!!

One thought on “Good luck with interviews! ((By Hannah))

  1. Hallie says:

    Thank you for this! Exactly what I needed as I keep compulsively checking my email. So excited to be immersed in the field like you describe. You guys are the best!

Leave a Reply

